Curtis Hasselbring's New Mellow Edwards (Extended Edition), Mike Pride's "From Bacteria To Boys"

Search and Restore presents

Curtis Hasselbring's New Mellow Edwards (Extended Edition)

Mike Pride's "From Bacteria To Boys"

Sun, April 24, 2011

8:30 pm


This event is 21 and over

$10 with Student ID

Facebook comments:

Curtis Hasselbring's New Mellow Edwards (Extended Edition)
Curtis Hasselbring's New Mellow Edwards (Extended Edition)
The New Mellow Edwards premiere Curtis Hasselbring's "Number Stations"

Curtis Hasselbring - trombone, guitar
Chris Speed - tenor saxophone, clarinet
Trevor Dunn - bass
Ches Smith - drums
Mary Halvorson - guitar
Matt Moran - vibraphone
Satoshi Takeishi - percussion

"A smart ensemble that harnesses the forward thrust of rock in the service of an almost chamber-like group cohesiveness.” - Nate Chinen, New York Times

Curtis Hasselbring’s The New Mellow Edwards is his acclaimed quartet featuring Trevor Dunn, John Hollenbeck and Chris Speed that defies traditional jazz conventions and favors primal garage rock-derived grooves, textural explorations and classically-influenced structures. Their performances are, often simultaneously, humorous, dark, accessible and exciting. This evening's event centers around an extended version of the group featuring special guests Mary Halvorson, Matt Moran, Satoshi Takeishi, and Ches Smith will replace Hollenbeck on drums, resulting in a star-studded septet whose members have worked with everyone from Anthony Braxton to Mr. Bungle to the Claudia Quintet. The group will be performing Hasselbring's new piece titled "Number Stations" inspired by shortwave radio stations that broadcast random series of five-digit numbers. Employed since the early 20th century, this technology has been widely believed to transmit coded messages for agents abroad. This piece involves the members of the ensemble taking on identities through their own assigned five digit numbers and clandestinely forging alliances and spying on each other.

"Number Stations" by Curtis Hasselbring has been made possible with support from Chamber Music America's 2010 New Jazz Works: Commissioning and Ensemble Development program funded through the generosity of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation.